Uncontested Divorce The Cheap and Quick Way
From our offices in Fairfax, Fredericksburg and Manassas, the uncontested divorce lawyers at Livesay & Myers, P.C. represent clients across Northern Virginia. Virginia law allows for an uncontested divorce on the no-fault grounds of (1) separation for at least twelve months, or (2) separation for at least six months, with a separation agreement and no minor children. If you meet one of these grounds, have no outstanding custody, support, property or other issues to be resolved, and your spouse will cooperate fully, we can process your uncontested divorce quickly, with no court appearance, for a low flat fee.
Central to our ability to process no-fault divorces quickly and cheaply is this simple fact: Virginia law allows us to file an uncontested, no-fault divorce in any jurisdiction in Virginia, so long as both parties agree. This means that we are able to file 95% of our uncontested divorces in one or two favored jurisdictions, which process such divorces quickly and require no court appearances.
For the uncontested divorces we file in one of our favored jurisdictions, the process is fairly simple. First, we file an initial package with the court, including a Complaint for Divorce. We then have your spouse sign a Waiver of Service of Process.
Next, we meet with you in one of our offices for your “depositions.” You would need to bring along a witness– any friend, family member or co-worker who is familiar with your living situation. You and your witness would answer some questions under oath, to verify that you have been separated for the required amount of time and that you or your spouse have lived in Virginia for at least six months.
[Note: even if you don't live anywhere near one of our offices, we can still process your divorce. Rather than conducting your depositions in person, we would simply e-mail you a set of "written depositions," which you would complete in front of a notary public and mail back to us.]
Finally, we would submit a final package to the court, including your depositions and a divorce decree. Then, generally within 1-3 weeks of your depositions– which is usually within 4-6 weeks from the initial filing, we would receive the signed decree back from the court, and you would be divorced!
We handle all no-fault divorces filed in one of our favored jurisdictions, where there are no outstanding custody, support, property, or other issues to be resolved, for a low, flat attorney’s fee of $599. For an additional court filing fee of $21, we can also secure a name change (back to a maiden name) for the wife in the divorce. So, your total cost for the divorce would be:
$599 + $86 = $685 without name change or
$599 + $86 + $21= $706 with name change.
Assuming your spouse will cooperate, $685 or $706 would be your total cost– there are no hidden fees, no hidden charges for photocopies or postage, etc.
Where (a) your spouse will cooperate fully, (b) you have no remaining custody, property, support, etc. issues with your spouse and (c) you have been separated for the required amount of time, we should be able to process your divorce in exactly the method described above, for a low, flat legal fee of $599. Contact us to get started today.